Expert Group - 2017

The Expert Group on National Quality Assurance Frameworks (NQAF) was re-established in June 2017, again taking into account regional representation. Countries and international organizations participating in the Expert Group are listed below. Discussions of the Expert Group are taking place both using the UN Statistics Wiki platform (available under the following link:, login required), where experts can exchange their views, comment and share materials and inputs, and regular teleconferences held approximately on a monthly basis


  • Botswana (joined in 2019)
  • Brazil (joined in 2019)
  • Cameroon (joined in 2019)
  • Canada (former Co-Chair)
  • Chile
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Egypt
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Italy (Co-Chair)
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Mexico
  • Niger
  • Norway
  • Philippines (Co-Chair)
  • Russian Federation (joined in 2019)
  • South Africa
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom (joined in 2019)
  • Viet Nam

Agencies or international organizations

  • Statistical office of the European Union (Eurostat) (formally joined in 2019)
  • Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO)
  • International Monetary Fund (IMF)
  • Organization for Economic and Cultural Development (OECD)
  • World Bank
  • UN Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)
  • UN Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE)
  • UN Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (UNECLAC)
  • UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and Pacific (UNESCAP)
  • UN Statistics Division (Secretariat)

Expert Group - 2010

The Expert Group on National Quality Assurance Frameworks (NQAF) was formally established in August 2010 after an invitation to designate a quality representative to serve in the group had been sent to the 17 countries listed below, taking regional representation into consideration. In addition, nine agencies and international organizations were invited to serve as observers.

The initial discussions began with an exchange of information on each member country's experience with the development or use of a national quality assurance framework, and the problems and obstacles they experienced (or would anticipate experiencing) in developing and implementing an NQAF. Comments on the needs and priorities of countries vis-à-vis the development and implementation of an NQAF, and opinions on the proposed templates for a generic NQAF presented in the Statistics Canada report to the UN Statistical Commission were also provided. Click on the countries', agencies' or international organizations' names below to read the comments that had been submitted.


Agencies or international organizations

Expert Group meeting in 2011

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) organized a meeting of the Expert Group on National Quality Assurance Frameworks (NQAF) in New York from 28-30 September 2011.


The main objectives of the meeting were:

  • to discuss and agree on the template for a generic national quality assurance framework and its accompanying guidelines with selected tools, examples and best practices;
  • to further develop the expert group's glossary of currently used quality terminology;
  • to finalize the mapping of the NQAF template to existing frameworks, including IMF's Data Quality Assessment Framework (DQAF) and the European Statistical System's Code of Practice, and the template based on Statistics Canada's quality assurance framework as presented in its 2010 report to the UN Statistical Commission (E/CN.3/2010/2) - Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, Spanish;
  • to discuss future updates of and enhancements to the NQAF website as a platform for the exchange of information and experiences on national and international quality assurance work.

The resulting recommendations and decisions coming out of the meeting formed the basis for the report presented to the forty-third session of the Statistical Commission in 2012 on the conclusion of the work of the Expert Group.

Meeting documents