1st session of UNGEGN
29 April - 3 May 2019
Side events calendar (Printable version)

Tentative schedule and room assignments subject to change as of 12 April 2019

Date Morning Lunchtime
Monday,
29 April 2019
8:30 - 9:30 am - Orientation Briefing Session
"open to all especially newcomers"
Venue: CR-E (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: UNGEGN Secretariat
Email: geoinfo_unsd@un.org
1:15 - 2:30 pm - Arab Division meeting
"open to all"
Venue: CR-E (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: Dr. Eng. Awni Kasawneh
Email: kawni@yahoo.com
1:15 - 2:30 pm - Asia East Division (other than China) meeting
"by invitation only"
Venue: CR-F (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: Ki-Suk Lee
Email: leekisuk@snu.ac.kr
Date Morning Lunchtime
Tuesday,
30 April 2019
8:15 - 9:15 am - Workshop on Linked data developments and provision
Venue: CR-A (Conference bldg.)
Contact: Pier-Giorgio Zaccheddu
Email: pier-giorgio.zaccheddu@bkg.bund.de
8:15 - 9:30 am - Presentation of the Joint ICA/IGU Commission on Toponymy
"open to all"
Venue: CR-E (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: Peter Jordan
Email: peter.jordan@oeaw.ac.at
1:15 - 2:30 pm - French Speaking Division meeting
"open to all"
Venue: CR-A (Conference bldg.)
Contact: Élisabeth Calvarin
Email: e-calvarin@wanadoo.fr
1:15 - 2:30 pm - WG on Toponymic Terminology business meeting
Venue: CR-E (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: Trent Palmer
Email: trent.c.palmer@nga.mil ; thepalmerpeople7@gmail.com
Date Morning Lunchtime
Wednesday,
1 May 2019
8:15 - 9:30 am - WG Romanization Systems business meeting
"open to all"
Venue: CR-A (Conference bldg.)
Contact: Catherine Cheetham and Peeter Pãll
Email: ccheetham@pcgn.org.uk ; peeter@eki.ee
8:15 - 9:30 am - East Central and South-East European Division meeting
Venue: CR-E (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: Darina Porubcanová
Email: darina.porubcanova@geodesy.sk
1:15 - 2:30 pm - Workshop "The Unanswered Questions Relating to Indigenous Toponymy"
"open to all"
Venue: CR-2 (Conference bldg.)
Contact: Bill Watt
Email: William.Watt@sa.gov.au
1:15 - 2:30 pm - Asia South East Division meeting
Venue: CR-A (Conference bldg.)
Contact: Ellen Suryanegara, Geospatial Information Agency (BIG) The Republic of Indonesia
Email: ellen.surya@gmail.com ; ellen.suryanegara@big.go.id
1:15 - 2:30 pm - SCAR - SCAGI - Working Group on Place Names in Antarctica
Venue: CR-E (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: Jean-Yves Pirlot
Email: jean-yves.pirlot@ign.be
Date Morning Lunchtime
Thursday,
2 May 2019
8:15 - 9:30 am - Panel of experts to discuss practice relating to geographical names with the Documentation Division
Venue: CR-E (Conference bldg.)
Contact: Cecille Blake
Email: blake1@un.org
8:15 - 9:30 am - Exonym working group meeting
Venue: CR-A (Conference bldg.)
Contact: Kohei Watanabe
Email: kw10004@cam.ac.uk
1:15 - 2:00 pm - Challenges and Opportunities of the Online Discussion Forum
Venue: CR-A (Conference bldg.)
Contact: Pier-Giorgio Zaccheddu
Email: pier-giorgio.zaccheddu@bkg.bund.de
1:15 - 2:30 pm - SCAR - SCAGI - Working Group on Place Names in Antarctica
Venue: CR-E (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: Jean-Yves Pirlot
Email: jean-yves.pirlot@ign.be
2:00 - 2:30 pm - Business meeting of the Working Group on the Toponymic Data Files and Gazetteers
Venue: CR-A (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: Pier-Giorgio Zaccheddu
Email: pier-giorgio.zaccheddu@bkg.bund.de
Date Morning Lunchtime
Friday,
3 May 2019
8:15 - 9:30 am - WG Country Names
"open to all"
Venue: CR-A (Conference bldg.)
Contact: Élisabeth Calvarin
Email: e-calvarin@wanadoo.fr
8:15 - 9:30 am - WG on Geographical Names as Cultural Heritage
"open to all"
Venue: CR-E (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: Annette Torensj
Email: annette.torensjo@sprakochfolkminnen.se
1:15 - 2:30 pm - Joint Meeting of the Working Group on Evaluation and Implementation and the Working Group on Publicity and Funding
"open to all"
Venue: CR-A (Conference bldg.)
Contact: Sungjae Choo
Email: sjchoo@khu.ac.kr
1:15 - 2:30 pm - UNGEGN Bureau and Convenors meeting
"by invitation only"
Venue: CR-E (General Assembly bldg.)
Contact: Cecille Blake
Email: blake1@un.org