



Distr. LIMITED

E/CONF.91/L.57 8 December 1997

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

SEVENTH UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE
ON THE STANDARDIZATION OF
GEOGRAPHICAL NAMES
New York, 13-22 January 1998
Item 16 of the provisional agenda*

COUNTRY NAMES

Names of countries and their capitals and inhabitants

Paper submitted by Poland**

97-38094 (E) 020198 /...

^{*} E/CONF.91/1.

^{**} Prepared by Izabella Krauze-Tomczyk, Head Office of Geodesy and Cartography, and Jerzy Kondracki, Warsaw University.

The list of names of countries of the world prepared by the Commission for the Standardization of Geographical Names Outside Poland comprises the following information:

- 1. Name of the country as used colloquially in the Polish language (in nominative, possessive and locative cases).
- 2. Name of the country in the local language, in short form (for names in a non-Latin alphabet, in simplified transliteration and transcription).
- 3. Full official name of the country in Polish (with the abbreviation in brackets).
- 4. Full official name of the country in the local language and its abbreviation (for those in a non-Latin alphabet, in transliteration and transcription).
- 5. Adjective derived from the short form of the name in the Polish language (in nominative, singular, masculine).
- 6. Term used for the country's inhabitants (in masculine and feminine, singular and plural).
- 7. Name of the capital of the country in Polish (in nominative, possessive and locative cases).
- 8. Name of the capital of the country in the local language (for names in a non-Latin alphabet, in transliteration and transcription).
- 9. Adjective derived from the name of the capital in Polish (masculine, nominative, singular).
- 10. Term used for inhabitants of the country's capital (in masculine and feminine, singular and plural).

All independent, internationally recognized countries have been included in the list: 185 countries, including members of the United Nations and eight non-members (Cook Islands, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, Switzerland, Tonga, Tuvalu and the Holy See). Names of autonomous and dependent territories (republics within Russia and Georgia, overseas departments of France, etc.) have been placed in the appendix. Information about these territories has been given in alphabetical order.
