COUNTRY NOTES

Australia – Data exclude the overseas territories.

Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, Saba – Data prior to 2012 are included in Netherlands Antilles (former).

China – Data exclude Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions (Hong Kong SAR and Macao SAR) and Taiwan Province. Data for other kerosene include kerosene-type jet fuel until 2013.

China, Hong Kong SAR – Data on kerosenetype jet fuel include aviation gasoline and other kerosene.

China, Macao SAR – For confidentiality reasons, some data on coal and coal products, petroleum products and biomass are not available.

Curaçao – Data prior to 2012 are included in Netherlands Antilles (former).

Czechoslovakia – prior to 1993, refers to the former Czechoslovakia composed of Czechia and Slovakia.

Denmark – Data exclude Greenland and the Danish Faroes.

Egypt – Data for lubricants are included with other oil products for 2011-2013.

France – Data include Monaco, and exclude the following overseas departments and territories: Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Reunion, Saint Barthélemy, St. Pierre and Miquelon, and Wallis and Futuna.

Gambia – Data for Other kerosene have been reclassified as kerosene-type jet fuel.

Germany – Through the accession of the **German Democratic Republic** to the **Federal Republic of Germany** with effect from 3 October 1990, the two German States united to form one sovereign state. Data for 1990 are shown separately for the former states.

Greenland – Data for kerosene-type jet fuel include other kerosene.

Indonesia – Data include Timor-Leste until 2001.

Italy – Data include San Marino and the Holy See.

Japan – Data include Okinawa.

Kuwait – The data for crude oil production include 50 per cent of the output of the Neutral Zone.

Madagascar – Data for bitumen include petroleum coke.

Netherlands – Data exclude Suriname and the Netherlands Antilles (former).

Netherlands Antilles (former) – The country, comprising Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, Sint Eustatius and Sint Marteen (Dutch part), was dissolved on 10 October 2010. For the purposes of this yearbook, data up to 2011 refer to the former territory of the Netherlands Antilles as it was known prior to 10 October 2010.

Pacific Islands – Until 1991, Trust Territory comprising Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Northern Mariana Islands and Palau.

Pakistan – Data on wind and solar electricity and on electricity from other sources are all reported as wind electricity.

Portugal – Data include the Azores and Madeira.

Republic of Moldova – Data exclude Transnistria and the municipality of Bender.

Saudi Arabia – Data for crude oil production include 50 per cent of the output of the Neutral Zone.

Serbia – Data exclude Kosovo.

Serbia and Montenegro – Data exclude Kosovo from 2000 onwards. As a former country/area, it appears in this edition only in Table 1.

Sint Maarten (Dutch part) – Data prior to 2012 are included in Netherlands Antilles (former).

South Sudan – Data prior to 2012 are included in Sudan (former).

Spain – Data include the Canary Islands.

Sudan – Data prior to 2012 are included in Sudan (former).

Sudan (former) – South Sudan became an independent state on 9 July 2011. This country represents the whole territory of Sudan as it was on 1 January 2011 for data up to and including 2011.

Switzerland – Data include Liechtenstein for oil statistics.

Ukraine – The Government of Ukraine has informed the United Nations that it is not in a position to provide statistical data concerning the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and the city of Sevastopol. For confidentiality reasons, data on the following products (mainly on production) may not be available or may be included with other products: sub-bituminous coal (included with other bituminous coal), lignite (included with peat), patent fuel (included with peat briquettes), aviation gasoline, kerosene-type jet fuel, other kerosene, petroleum coke, paraffin waxes and white spirit (the latter three included with other oil products), gasworks gas (included with other recovered gas).

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics - Referred to as USSR, comprised up to 1990 Armenia. Azerbaiian. Belarus. Estonia. Georgia. Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia. Lithuania. Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Taiikistan. Turkmenistan. Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

United Kingdom – Shipments of coal and oil to Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man from the United Kingdom are not classed as exports. Supplies of coal and oil to these islands are, therefore, included as part of UK supply. Exports of natural gas to the Isle of Man are included with the exports to Ireland.

United States – Includes the 50 states and the District of Columbia. Oil statistics as well as coal trade statistics also include Puerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Johnston Atoll, Midway Islands, Wake Island and the Northern Mariana Islands.

Yemen – On 22 May 1990 Democratic Yemen and Yemen Arab Republic merged to form a single State. Since that date they have been represented as one Member with the name 'Yemen'. Data for 1990 are shown separately for the former states.

Yugoslavia – Data until 1991 refer to the former Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, namely Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Slovenia and Serbia (including Kosovo).