Available Classifications
Alternate structures
Alphabetical Indexes
Correspondence Tables
Free downloads
International Family of Classifications
  Best practices

National classifications

  Statistical Commission
  Expert Group
  Technical Subgroup
  Workshops and Training


Contact us

   Back to regional overview

National Classifications

Eesti majanduse tegevusalade klassifikaator

Country / Area: Estonia

Classification category: Activity classifications

General information
1 (a)Name of the current national classification (full name in official national languages and in English with acronyms in brackets, should be given)Eesti majanduse tegevusalade klassifikaator 2008; Estonian classification of economic activities 2008; (EMTAK 2008).
1 (b)In which language(s) is the classification available?In Estonia and in English languages.
1 (c)Can the classification (or information about it) be accessed on the Internet? If yes, please provide the URL.Est: http://metaweb.stat.ee/view_xml.htm?id=2254259&siteLanguage=ee
Eng : http://metaweb.stat.ee/view_xml.htm?id=2791059&siteLanguage=en
Classification structure
2 (a)Please describe the structure of the classification: How many levels does the classification have? (Please provide labels, such as “Division”, “Class”) How many categories exist at each level?1th level: 21 sections,
2nd level: 88 divisions
3rd level: 272 groups,
4th level: 615 classes,
5th level: 775 sub-classes.
2 (b)Please provide examples of the coding system used at each level.1th level: an alphabetical code, letters from A to U
2nd level: two-digit numerical codes 01 to 99
3rd level: three-digit numerical codes 011 to 990
4th level: four-digit numerical codes 0111 to 9900
5th level: five-digit numerical codes 01111 to 99009
Relationship to international standards
3 (a)Is this classification based on (or linked to) an international standard classification? If yes, please describe.Estonian Classification of Economic Activities 2008 (EMTAK 2008) bases on the Statistical Classification of Economic Activities in the European Community (NACE Rev.2).
3 (b)Is the classification structure identical to the international standard or, if not, how does it differ? (e.g. have additional levels been added to the international standard or have changes been made within the level of the international structure, such as aggregations or additional breakdowns)First four levels of EMTAK are identical to first four levels of NACE Rev.2. The 5th level describes the particularity of economic activities more precisely.
3 (c)Please describe deviations from the international standard (in terms of structure, methodology or application rules). Please use examples, if a general statement is not possible.The code consists of five digits without any points.
3 (d)At what level of the international standard can data be reported for international comparison? (Please provide examples of programmes / indicators if reporting takes place at different levels of the classification.)The first four levels are identical to the international standard.
3 (e)If no links to international classifications exist or no international standard is used, please state if there are plans to use international norms in the future. 
Classification uses
4 (a)Please state for which statistical purposes (surveys etc.) this classification is used and if there are users outside of the Statistical Office. Please indicate at which level the classification is used for data collection and for data publishing.It is used in most surveys of the Statistics Estonia and in other registers.
For data collection the level of the classification is used at the 5th level and for data publishing the level of classification is used depends on purpose of surveys and the rules of confidentiality.
4 (b)Please give the names of institutions that use the classification for non-statistical purposes (as opposed to statistical purposes in question 4(a)). Also indicate the kind of use (e.g. tax offices, social security, customs, enterprise register, employment services, work permits etc.)Outside of the Statistics Estonia the Centre of Registers and Information Systems and Estonian Tax and Customs Board are using EMTAK at the most precise level (5th level), also other different state units, banks, etc
4 (c)Please indicate if alternative classifications are used by other institutions of the economy. Are these classifications available and useful for the Statistical Office?No, there are no any alternative classifications.
Implementation / revision status
5 (a)Please state the date of the official adoption of the classification. If not yet adopted, please indicate the current state (e.g. in development, sent for approval, in printing, ready to be distributed etc.)This version of classification (EMTAK 2008) is implemented from 1st of January 2008. In general, the classification is implemented from 1st of March 1990 (based on ISIC Rev. 3).
5 (b)Please state the date of use of the classification for individual statistical programmes.From 1st of January 2008.
5 (c)Are there existing plans for revision or update of the current classification?Direct plans for revision or update are concerned with the new NACE revision if it will come into operation.
5 (d)Name of former (previous) national classification (full name in both national tongue and in English with acronyms in brackets, should be given)Eesti majanduse tegevusalade klassifikaator 2003, Estonian Classification of Economic Activities 2003 (EMTAK 2003).
5 (e)Please describe the link of the former classification to international classificationsFour first digits of the EMTAK 2003 conform to the lowest four-digit level of NACE Rev.1.1. One national level has been added and therefore EMTAK 2003 has five digits.
5 (f)Please describe the structure of the former classification and indicate the number of items at each level of the classification. (similar to question 2(a))1th level: 17 sections, alphabetical code, letters A-Q
Intermediate level: 16 sub-sections, two-character alphabetical codes in sections C and D
2nd level: 62 divisions, two-digit numeric codes 01 to 99
3rd level: 224 groups, three-digit numeric codes 011 to 990
4th level: 514 classes, four-digit numeric codes 0111 to 9900
5th level: 1020 sub-classes, five-digit numeric codes 01111 to 99009
5 (g)Do conversion tables exist between the former and current classification?Yes.
5 (h)When was the former classification implemented?From 1st of January 2003.
5 (i)Are statistical data still collected or published according to the former classification? Please indicate if this statistical data is collected or published by the Statistical Office or elsewhere.No.
Supporting documents
6 (a)Have national explanatory notes and/or guidelines been elaborated?Yes.
6 (b)Do correspondence tables exist between the national and the international classifications (if applicable)?No, it is not necessary due to conformity at the first four levels.
6 (c)Are correspondence tables between alternative and current classification available (if applicable)?No, we do not use an alternative classification.
6 (d)Does a national coding index exist?Yes.
6 (e)Is the classification available in electronic form? If yes, in which formats is it available?(e.g. PDF, TXT, Excel, XML)Yes, in Excel and in XML files.
6 (f)Are the correspondence tables or indexes available in electronic form?No, these are not available; they are used only in information systems for data processing.
Contact information
7 (a)Name of institution / office responsible for the development and maintenance of the classificationCentre of Registers and Information Systems
7 (b)Contact address, phone number, e-mail or website for public information and inquiryAddress: Lõkke street 4, 19081, Tallinn, Estonia
Phone: (+372) 683 7551
E-mail: rik@just.ee
Other comments
9 (a)Please provide any other information on this classification that you consider relevant 

Source: UN questionnaire, 9/14/2012