TSB logo

EU-27 in UN Comtrade

Expand / Collapse

EU-27 in UN Comtrade

Q: The European Union was enlarged in 2004 with 10 new members and subsequently in 2007 with two new members. After that, EU-27 has become an international abbreviation, symbolizing all its 27 member countries. Why are there differences between reported data of individual EU countries and EU-27 reported data in Comtrade?

A: EU-27 in the UN Comtrade database is an economic grouping created for statistical purposes. It does not have a political status. The Statistical Office of the European Union (Eurostat) provides us with the EU-27 data.

EU-27 is regarded here as one entity, which trades with the rest of the world. Intra-EU trade does not make part of it. This means, for example, that trade of Italy with other EU member states is not part of EU-27 trade. However, the trade of Italy with countries outside of the EU-27 is taken into account.

Since the sources of data of all individual EU countries are the national authorities of each of the 27 member states and since the source of EU-27 is Eurostat, there can be differences between reconstructed EU-27 from individual country data in UN Comtrade and the combined EU-27 from Eurostat. You must however always keep in mind that Intra-EU trade needs to be deducted from trade reported by the EU member states.

For an overview of the data availability, please see http://comtrade.un.org/db/mr/daReportersResults.aspx?r=97

Rate this Article:

Add Your Comments

Comment require login or registration.

Last Modified:Tuesday, February 2, 2010
Last Modified By: comtrade_admin
Type: INFO
Article not rated yet.
Article has been viewed 13,191 times.