

Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 3 July 2007

Original: English

Ninth United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names

New York, 21-30 August 2007

Item 5 of the provisional agenda*

Reports by divisions of the United Nations Group of Experts on Geographical Names on the situation in their divisions and on the progress made in the standardization of geographical names since the Eighth Conference

Report of the Africa South Division for the Ninth United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names

Submitted by the Africa South Division**

Summary***

The Africa South Division comprises Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Unfortunately, the reports of Malawi, Namibia, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe regarding the standardization of geographical names are not included in the present document, in spite of the requests made by e-mail and fax. Nonetheless, some information about the geographical names in Lesotho, Namibia and Zambia was given by the representatives of those countries during the Africa South Division meeting in Berlin at the twenty-first session of the United Nations Group on Geographical Names, in 2002.

The report of the Africa South Division contains only the activities of Mozambique and South Africa in the area of the standardization of geographical names. The reports of Botswana and Madagascar are the same that were given in Vienna during the twenty-second session of the Group of Experts in 2006.

^{***} The full text of the report is being issued in English only as document E/CONF.98/129/Add.1.



^{*} E/CONF.98/1.

^{**} Prepared by Luís Abrahamo (Mozambique), Chairman, Africa South Division.