UNITED NATIONS	Working Paper No. 16
GROUP OF EXPERTS ON	
GEOGRAPHICAL NAMES	
Twenty-second Session	
· ·	
New York, 20 -29 April 2004	

Item 12 of the Provisional Agenda

MEETING OF THE WORKING GROUP ON COUNTRY NAMES

Names of Countries, their Capitals and Inhabitants*

Prepared by Maciej Zych, Commission for Standardization of Geographical Names Outside Poland affiliated at the Surveyor General of Poland, Head Office of Geodesy and Cartography, Warsaw

Names of Countries, Their Capitals and Inhabitants

1

In 1997, the Commission for Standardization of Geographical Names Outside Poland published the first edition of the list of *Names of Countries, Their Capitals and Inhabitants* (*Nazwy panstw swiata, ich stolic i mieszkanców*). In the six years since the previous list of names of countries was published a multitude of changes has occurred in geographical names: new countries have emerged, several countries have changed their names, others have changed their capital or its name, while the Polish-language names of several countries and their capitals have also been amended. The second issue of the list of *Names of Countries, Their Capitals and Inhabitants* appeared in late 2003, while the data it contained were updated in late Octobe r 2003.

The Polish names of countries, territories and their capitals mentioned in the list are the only forms recommended for use in the Polish language. Most Polish names have not been changed, compared with the previous list. If and wherever changes were introduced, they consisted of adding or removing exonyms, and also of changing the form of an exonym.

The list of *Names of Countries, Their Capitals and Inhabitants* mentions 192 independent countries, 191 members of the United Nations Organization and the Holy See (Vatican City). Two supplements have been added to the list. The first contains 64 territories: non-self-governing territories and territories of undefined or controversial status (e.g. Antarctic territories, *North Cyprus, Palestine, Western Sahara, Taiwan*). The second supplement mentions 64 autonomous territories being parts of 16 countries, including 32 Russian territories (republics, regions, districts).

The list of countries is given in alphabetic order, in relation to the short Polish names of the countries. Information is given next to the country's name concerning the continent on which it lies. The following information is given for each country:

- the short Polish name of the country (in the nominative, genitive and locative cases);
- the official (full) Polish name of the country, with the customary abbreviation of the name in the case of some countries:
- the name of the official language or languages of a given country;
- the short name of the country in the official language (languages);
- the full official name of the country in the official language (languages);
- the adjective derived from the Polish name of the country given in the nominative, singular, masculine gender;
- the Polish names of the citizens of the country in the masculine and feminine gender, singular and also in the plural masculine gender;
- the name of the capital (or capitals) of the country used in the Polish language;
- the name of the capital (or capitals) in the official language (languages);
- the adjective derived from the Polish name of the capital (capitals) given in the nominative, singular, masculine gender;
- the Polish names of the inhabitants of the capital (capitals) in the masculine and feminine gender, singular and in the plural, masculine;
- the pronunciation of those names of the countries and their capitals used in the Polish language, which may cause difficulty.

The absence of any of the above mentioned items of information signifies that it does not appear for the given country, which means that the names of citizens or inhabitants of capitals are not created, the names of countries or capitals are not declined or that adjective forms are

not created from them, that long forms of countries' names do not exist, that the Polish name of a capital is the same as the original name.

The list of the names of non-self-governing territories has been drawn up in alphabetic order, similar to the list of names of countries. The entries concerning individual territories contain the same information as in the case of countries. The sole exception is that the names of a given territory's inhabitants are given instead of the names of its citizens. An index of their political affiliation and system (form of dependence) is given as additional information next to the territories. An index of the political affiliation of non-self-governing territories is given at the end of the list of these territories.

The list of the names of autonomous territories is given in alphabetic order, according to the names of the countries of which these territories are component parts. The system of entries is similar to that of non-self-governing territories, with only information concerning political affiliation and system being omitted.

The Commission takes no stand on the issue of the status of non-self-governing and autonomous territories, whose names are given in the list. The fact of placing or omitting the name of any territory whatsoever does not express acceptance or negation of its status, which may sometimes be contentious.

The list contains all accessible information concerning names in official languages of the countries and territories, taking in consideration the names of countries and territories and also their capitals in those languages. The result is that the list contains the most voluminous information concerning the official names of countries and territories ever published in Poland, taking into account names in 121 official languages. Among the included official languages, 57 are given in their original non-Roman alphabets. The names in these languages in the list are given using systems of romanization of geographical names consistent with the recommendations of the United Nations Organization, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), BGN/PCGN and, for Slavonic languages – according to the *Nowy slownik ortograficzny PWN (New orthographic dictionary)*. Applied romanization principles are given in a separate specification. Traditional Polish transcripts of names are additionally given in the case of 28 languages.

Two indexes have been given at the end of the list. The first contains the Polish names of all countries and non-self-governing and autonomous territories, while the second index holds the names of all capitals of countries and non-self-governing and autonomous territories.

An annex to the list is a map *World*. Countries and non-self-governing territories (2003), on which all independent and selected (proportionate to the scale of the map) non-self-governing territories are shown, giving their Polish names consistent with the names given in the list. In addition, the map shows the capitals of countries, in the case of countries with two capitals, i.e. official and factual, only the official capital is shown as the more important. The map is drafted at the 1:100,000,000 scale, in the Eckert orthomorphic projection.

The list of *Names of Countries, Their Capitals and Inhabitants* contains 90 pages and was published by the Head Office of Geodesy and Cartography. Its digital version will be available in the Internet.