UNITED NATIONS

Group of Experts on Geographical Names (UNGEGN)

Fifteenth Session Geneva, 16 - 20 September 1991 Working Paper

No. 50

Agenda item 10 Working Group on Toponymic Data Files and Gazetteers

Revisions of administrative and other geographical names in the Federal Republic of Germany

prepared by:

Institut für Angewandte Geodäsie Frankfurt am Main Federal Republic of Germany Revisions of administrative and other geographical names in the Federal Republic of Germany

On 3 October 1990 the German Democratic Republic joined the Federal-Republic of Germany.

This accession of the GDR to the territory of application of the Basic Law of the Federal Republic of Germany took place in accordance with Article 23 of the Basic Law. Merging of the formerly two states was performed on the basis of the Unification Treaty, the Two-plus-Four-Negotiations and through the formation of the new Länder (federal states) replacing the 15 districts, which had constituted the former GDR. It was stipulated in the Unification Treaty that Berlin should be the capital of the Federal Republic of Germany; for the time being the city of Bonn shall be seat of Government and Bundestag. On 20 June 1991, the Bundestag resolved to transfer the seats of parliament and government to Berlin.

Revisions of administrative names as well as of names of other geographical features due to the German unification are given in the following:

The Land/the Länder	Capital
Brandenburg	Potsdam
(Brandenburg)	•
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern	Schwerin
(Mecklenburg-West Pomerania)
Sachsen	Dresden
(Saxony)	. •
Sachsen-Anhalt	Magdeburg
(Saxony-Anhalt)	
Thüringen	Erfurt
(Thuringia)	

1. Names of the new Länder and of their capitals

The eastern "Stadtbezirke" of Berlin |formerly: Berlin (East)| have been reunited with the Land Berlin

Thus, the total number of the Länder of the Federal Republic of Germany rose to 16.

2. <u>Revision of cities and municipalities</u> (communes)

- In Saxony the city of "Karl-Marx-Stadt" was reassigned its former name "Chemnitz".
- In the Land Brandenburg the addition "Wilhelm-Pieck-Stadt" to the city of Guben was deleted.
- The commune of "Marxwalde", located in the "Kreis" of Seelow of the Land Brandenburg, was assigned the new name "Neuhardenberg" (Population: 3700).

3. <u>Revision of names designating streets and squares</u>

In the cities and communes a large number of names designating streets, squares or other places were changed and are still being changed. Many commissions and working groups have been active in this field at local level. These renaming activities aim particularly at exchanging names which have become politically incriminated during the most recent past. However, replacement of such names cannot be enforced from one day to next, but will be performed gradually and in accordance with the communes' specific regulations. Generally speaking, mainly for economical and practical reasons the communes are seeking to put into effect most of the renaming measures simultaneously. New city maps, telephone books and city directories, timetables etc. can in this way be revised in one step.

4. <u>Revisions of names of other geographical features</u>

Descriptions referring to geographical features located in the coastal regions of the Baltic Sea near the border with Poland, i.e. "Oderbucht" and "Oderhaff", which were used in the former GDR, have been rechanged in "Pommersche Bucht" and "Stettiner Haff", respectively.