

Distr.: General 18 June 2012

Original: English

Tenth United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names

New York, 31 July-9 August 2012 Item 5 of the provisional agenda*

Reports on the work of the United Nations Group of Experts on Geographical Names, its divisions, working groups and task teams since the Ninth Conference

Report of the Asia South-East and Pacific South-West Division

Summary**

Malaysia was elected as the new Chair of the Asia South-East and Pacific South-West Division of the United Nations Group of Experts on Geographical Names during the 17th divisional meeting, held in Sydney, Australia, on 10 April 2010. The chairmanship is for a five-year period, from August 2010 to August 2015. The previous Chair was held by Rudolf W. Matindas (Indonesia) for the period from August 2006 to August 2010. The Division comprises of 22 member countries, namely, Australia, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Fiji, Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Vanuatu and Viet Nam.

^{**} The full report was prepared by Abdul Kadir bin Taib (Malaysia), Chair of the United Nations Group of Experts on Geographical Names for the Asia South-East and Pacific South-West Division, and is available in the language of submission only from http://unstats.un.org/ unsd/geoinfo/UNGEGN/ungegnConf10.html.



12-37835 (E) 100712 ***1237835***

^{*} E/CONF.101/1.