United Nations E/CONF.101/134/Add.1



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 9 July 2012

Original: English

Tenth United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names

New York, 31 July-9 August 2012 Item 8 (b) of the provisional agenda*

National standardization: office treatment of names

Naming of Indonesian islands

Summary**

Indonesia is an archipelagic State whose territory consists of thousands of islands, most of which are small (defined as being less than or equal to 2,000 km² in Act No. 27 of 2007). Until 2005, however, there was no standardization when it came to naming islands. From 2005 to 2008, the islands were named in accordance with recommendation B, on collection of geographical names, of resolution I/4 of the First United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names. The islands have been named by members of the national team for the standardization of geographical names, which was established under Presidential Decree No. 112 of 2006. The national team comprises representatives of several ministries and bureaux, including the Geospatial Information Agency, the Ministry of Marine Affairs and Fisheries, the Ministry of Home Affairs and the Ministry of Defence. Naming the islands has become a national priority owing to conflicts related to ownership of the islands. In this regard, attention is drawn to the definition of islands given in the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, in particular article 121, on the regime of islands. Currently, the national team has named 13,466 islands spanning 33 provinces. A total of 4,981 islands were registered with the United Nations in 2007.

^{**} The full report was prepared by the working group on maritime toponyms and names of islands of the Indonesian national team for the standardization of topographical names and is available in the language of submission only from http://unstats.un.org/unsd/geoinfo/UNGEGN/ungegnConf10.html.





^{*} E/CONF.101/1.