United Nations $E_{\text{/CONF.101/125}}$



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 31 May 2012 Original: English

Tenth United Nations Conference on the Standardization of Geographical Names

New York, 31 July – 9 August 2012 Item 8(d) of the provisional agenda* Administrative structure of national names authorities, legislation, policies and procedures

The Standardization of Government Administration Areas

Submitted by Indonesia**

^{*} E/CONF.101/1.

^{**} Prepared by the Secretariat of National Team for the Standardization of Geographical Names

Background

Decentralization and democratization in Indonesia since the enactment of Law Number 22 / 1999 regarding the Regional Government has increased the impact of government administration, which is until now into 33 provinces, 399 regencies, 98 municipalities, 6.694 districts, and 69.249 sub-districts. In 2009, 2010 and 2011, National Team for the Standardization of Topographic Names, has conducted the standardization on behalf of the provincial administrative regions, municipality, district and sub districts through certain procedures to be followed by the village administration.

These activities are carried out by the National Team for the Standardization of Topographic Names was established through the Presidential Regulation No. 112 / 2006 has conducted national standardization such as names, spelling and phonetics of the topographical names and presented these in the national gazetteers in 2009, 2010, and 2011.

Aim

The objectives of topographical names standardization are as follows:

- a. creating orderly administration on the standardization of topographic features names
- b. securing the regional administration orderly in the frame of the Unitary Republic of Indonesia
- c. publishing national gazetteers to provide a common understanding on topographical names;
- d. providing accurate data and information of topographical names of the Unitary Republic of Indonesia for national development as well as international interests

Standardization Process

Process of the standardization of topographical names in the administrative area in Indonesia are carried out through the following steps:

- (1) Head of sub districts or other designation to inventory the names of topographic features in the region that do not have name yet and have name.
- (2) In the event of topographic features have not been named and it have not be named in accordance with the principles of topographical names features, naming proposed by Kepala Desa / Lurah (Head of villages) or other designation to the Head of Districts or other designation after considering the proposed name of the community
- (3) The inventory of topographic names features delivered by the Head of Districts or other designation to the Committee of the Regency / Municipality.
- (4) The Committees of Regency / Municipality to conduct an inventory and review of the proposed standardization of the names of topographic features of the proposed by districts or other designation in the region.
- (5) The inventory and review of topographical names be submitted to the Provincial Committee.
- (6) Provincial Committee to conduct an inventory and review of the proposed standardization of the names of topographic features of the proposed Committee of Regency / Municipality in the region.

(7) The inventory and review conducted by the Provincial Committee submitted to the National Team that further verification and standardization.

Activities

The standardization of topographical names of administration area implemented in the provincial government office involves the provincial committee for the standardization of topographical names, and also attended by the standardization committee both of regency / municipality. In this event the respective chair of districts are invited that who will answer all the questions from the National Team during the verification carried out.

The activities related to the standardization of topographical names for the administrative area such as the following:

- a. The year 2009 covering 8 provinces, namely Lampung, East Java, Bali, West Nusatenggara, Central Kalimantan, North Sulawesi, Central Sulawesi, and South Sulawesi
- b. The year 2010 covering 11 provinces, namely West Sumatera, Riau, South Sumatra, Bangka-Belitung, Banten, Central Java, Yogyakarta, West Kalimantan, West Sulawesi, Southeast Sulawesi, and North Maluku
- c. The Year 2011 including 14 provinces, among others Aceh, North Sumatra, Jambi, Bengkulu, South Kalimantan, East Kalimantan, Jakarta, West Java, Gorontalo, East Nusatenggara, Maluku, Papua and West Papua.

Results

The activity of the standardization of topographical names for government administration area that have been implemented in period 2009 to 2011 have been standardized as much as 33 provinces, 399 regencies, 98 Municipalities, and 6.694 districts. All the data have been collected will be made as the gazetteer of government administration area.