COUNTRY NOTES

Australia – Data exclude the overseas territories.

China – Data exclude Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Regions (Hong Kong SAR and Macao SAR) and Taiwan Province. Data for other kerosene include kerosene-type jet fuel.

China, Hong Kong SAR – Data on kerosenetype jet fuel include aviation gasoline and other kerosene.

China, Macao SAR – For confidentiality reasons, data on coal and coal products, jet fuel, petroleum coke and other petroleum products (2009-2012), stock changes of other kerosene (2010-12), exports of charcoal (2009-2012), and data on fuelwood (2010-2012) are not available.

Czechoslovakia – prior to 1993, refers to the former Czechoslovakia composed of the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

Denmark – Data exclude Greenland and the Danish Faroes.

France – Data include Monaco, and exclude the following overseas departments and territories: Guadeloupe, Guyana, Martinique, New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Reunion, and St.-Pierre and Miquelon.

Germany – Through the accession of the German Democratic Republic to the Federal Republic of Germany with effect from 3 October 1990, the two German States united to form one sovereign state. Data for 1990 are shown separately for the former states.

Greenland – Data for kerosene-type jet fuel include other kerosene.

Indonesia – Data include Timor-Leste until 2001.

Italy – Data include San Marino and the Holy See.

Japan – Data include Okinawa.

Kuwait – The data for crude oil production include 50 per cent of the output of the Neutral Zone.

Madagascar – Data for bitumen include petroleum coke.

Netherlands – Data exclude Suriname and the Netherlands Antilles.

Netherlands Antilles – This country was dissolved on 10 October 2010, resulting in two new constituent countries, Curaçao and Saint Maarten, with the other islands joining the Netherlands. Since detailed information is not available, data refer to the former territory of the Netherlands Antilles as it was known prior to 10 October 2010, comprising Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, St. Eustatius and the Dutch part of St. Martin.

Pacific Islands – Until 1991, Trust Territory comprising Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Northern Mariana Islands and Palau.

Portugal – Data include the Azores and Madeira.

Saudi Arabia – Data for crude oil production include 50 per cent of the output of the Neutral Zone.

Serbia – Data exclude Kosovo from 2000 onwards.

Spain - Data include the Canary Islands.

Sudan – South Sudan became an independent state on 9 July 2011. However, due to lack of information this country represents the whole territory of Sudan as it was on 1 January 2011.

Switzerland – Data include Liechtenstein for oil statistics.

Ukraine – For confidentiality reasons, data on the following products (mainly on production) may not be available or may be included with other products: lignite (included with peat), patent fuel (included with peat briquettes), aviation gasoline, kerosene-type jet fuel, other kerosene, petroleum coke, paraffin waxes and white spirit (the latter three included with other oil products).

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics – Referred to as USSR, comprised up to 1990 Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.

United Kingdom – Shipments of coal and oil to Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man from the United Kingdom are not classed as exports. Supplies of coal and oil to these islands are, therefore, included as part of UK supply. Exports of natural gas to the Isle of Man are included with the exports to Ireland.

United States – Includes the 50 states and the District of Columbia. Oil statistics as well as coal trade statistics also include Puerto Rico, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Johnston Atoll, Midway Islands, Wake Island and the Northern Mariana Islands.

Yemen – On 22 May 1990 Democratic Yemen and Yemen Arab Republic merged to form a single State. Since that date they have been represented as one Member with the name 'Yemen'. Data for 1990 are shown separately for the former states.

Yugoslavia – Data until 1991 refer to the former Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, namely Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Slovenia and Serbia (including Kosovo).