Table 1 - Demographic Yearbook 2011

Table 1 presents for the world, major areas and regions estimates of the order of magnitude of population size, rates of population increase, crude birth and death rates, surface area as well as population density.

Description of variables: Estimates of world population by major areas and by regions are presented for 1960, 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, 2010 and 2011. Average annual percentage rates of population growth, crude birth and crude death rates are shown for the period from 2010 to 2015. Surface area in square kilometers and population density estimates relate to 2011.

All population estimates and rates presented in this table were prepared by the Population Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, and have been published in the 2010 Revision of World Population Prospects¹.

The scheme of regionalization used for these estimates is described below. Although some continental totals are given, and all can be derived, the basic scheme presents six major areas that are so drawn as to obtain greater homogeneity in sizes of population, types of demographic circumstances and accuracy of demographic statistics. Five of the major areas are subdivided into a total of 20 regions, which are arranged within the major areas; these regions together with Northern America, which is not subdivided, make a total of 21 regions.

The major areas of Northern America and Latin America are distinguished, rather than the conventional continents of North America and South America, because population trends in the middle American mainland and the Caribbean region more closely resemble those of South America than those of America north of Mexico. Data for the traditional continents of North and South America can be obtained by adding Central America and Caribbean region to Northern America and deducting from Latin America. Latin America, as defined here, has somewhat wider limits than it would be if defined only to include the Spanish-speaking, French-speaking and Portuguese-speaking countries.

The average annual percentage rates of population growth are calculated by the Population Division of the United Nations using an exponential rate of increase.

Crude birth and crude death rates are expressed in terms of the average annual number of births and deaths, respectively, per 1 000 mid-year population. These rates are estimated.

Surface area totals are estimated by the Population Division of the United Nations.

Computation: Density, calculated by the Statistics Division of the United Nations, is the number of persons in the 2011 total population per square kilometer of total surface area.

Reliability of data: With the exception of surface area, all data are set in *italic* type to indicate their conjectural quality.

Limitations: The estimated orders of magnitude of population and surface area are subject to all the basic limitations set forth in connection with table 3, and to the same qualifications set forth for population and surface area statistics in sections 3 and 2.4 of the Technical Notes, respectively.

Likewise, rates of population increase and density index are affected by the limitations of the original figures. However, it may be noted that, in compiling data for regional and major areas totals, errors in the components may tend to compensate each other and the resulting aggregates may be more reliable than the quality of the individual components would imply.

Because of their estimated character, many of the birth and death rates shown should also be considered only as orders of magnitude, and not as measures of the true level of fertility or mortality.

In interpreting the population densities, one should consider that some of the regions include large segments of land that are uninhabitable or barely habitable, and density values calculated as described make no allowance for this, nor for differences in patterns of land settlement.

Composition of macro geographical regions and sub-regions

AFRICA

Eastern Africa Burundi Comoros Djibouti

Eritrea Ethiopia Kenya Madagascar

Malawi Mauritius Mayotte Mozambique

Réunion Rwanda Seychelles Somalia Uganda

United Republic of Tanzania

Zambia Zimbabwe

Middle Africa

Angola Cameroon

Central African Republic

Chad Congo

Democratic Republic of the

Congo

Equatorial Guinea

Gabon

Sao Tome and Principe

Northern Africa

Algeria Egypt

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Morocco Sudan² Tunisia

Western Sahara

Southern Africa

Botswana Lesotho Namibia South Africa Swaziland

Western Africa

Benin

Burkina Faso Cape Verde Côte d'Ivoire Gambia Ghana

Guinea

Guinea-Bissau

Liberia Mali Mauritania Niger Nigeria Saint Helena Senegal Sierra Leone

ASIA

Togo

Eastern Asia

China

China, Hong Kong SAR China, Macao SAR Democratic People's Republic of Korea

Japan Mongolia

Republic of Korea

South-central Asia

Afghanistan Bangladesh Bhutan India

Iran (Islamic Republic of)

Kazakhstan Kyrgyzstan Maldives Nepal Pakistan Sri Lanka Tajikistan Turkmenistan Uzbekistan

South-eastern Asia

Brunei Darussalam

Cambodia Indonesia

Lao People's Democratic

Republic Malaysia Myanmar **Philippines** Singapore Thailand Timor Leste Viet Nam

Western Asia

Armenia Azerbaijan Bahrain

Cyprus Georgia Iraq

Israel Jordan Kuwait Lebanon

Occupied Palestinian Territory

Oman Qatar Saudi Arabia

Syrian Arab Republic

Turkey

United Arab Emirates

Yemen

EUROPE

Eastern Europe

Belarus Bulgaria Czech Republic Hungary Poland

Republic of Moldova

Romania

Russian Federation

Slovakia Ukraine

Northern Europe

Åland Islands Denmark Estonia Faeroe Islands Finland

Guernsey Iceland Ireland Isle of Man Jersey Latvia Lithuania Norway Sweden

United Kingdom of Great Britain

and Northern Ireland

Southern Europe

Albania Andorra

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Croatia Gibraltar Greece Holy See Italy

Malta Montenegro Portugal San Marino Serbia Slovenia Spain

TFYR of Macedonia

Western Europe

Austria
Belgium
France
Germany
Liechtenstein
Luxembourg
Monaco
Netherlands
Switzerland

LATIN AMERICA and the CARIBBEAN

Caribbean Anguilla

Antigua and Barbuda

Aruba Bahamas Barbados

British Virgin Islands Cayman Islands

Cuba Dominica

Dominican Republic Grenada

Guadaloupe Haiti

Jamaica Martinique

Montserrat

Netherlands Antilles

Puerto Rico

Saint Kitts and Nevis

Saint Lucia

Saint Vincent and the

Grenadines

Trinidad and Tobago Turks and Caicos Islands United States Virgin

Islands

Central America

Belize
Costa Rica
El Salvador
Guatemala
Honduras
Mexico
Nicaragua
Panama

South America

Argentina

Bolivia (Plurinational State of)

Brazil Chile Colombia Ecuador

Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

French Guiana Guyana Paraguay Peru Suriname Uruguay

Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

NORTHERN AMERICA

Bermuda

Canada Greenland

Saint Pierre and Miquelon United States of America

OCEANIA

Australia and New Zealand

Australia New Zealand Norfolk Island

Melanesia

Fiji

New Caledonia Papua New Guinea Solomon Islands

Vanuatu

Micronesia

Guam Kiribati

Marshall Islands

Micronesia (Federated States of)

Nauru

Northern Mariana Islands

Palau

Polynesia

American Samoa Cook Islands French Polynesia

Niue Pitcairn Samoa Tokelau Tonga Tuvalu

Wallis and Futuna Islands

¹ United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2011). World Population Prospects: The 2010 Revision, DVD Edition – Extended Dataset (United Nations publication, Sales No. E.11.XIII.7).

² Including South Sudan. South Sudan became an independent State on 9 July 2011 and a Member of the United Nations on 14 July 2011.